HBO’s 'Big Little Lies' Soundtrack Hits No. 1 on iTunes


The only thing as haunting and suspenseful as the finale of HBO’s Big Little Lies limited series starring Nicole Kidman, Reese Witherspoon, Shailene Woodley, Laura Dern and Zoë Kravitz, is its harrowing soundtrack, a digital-only release from ABKCO Records that hit #1 on the iTunes soundtrack chart (and #3 among all albums) on April 3.

After finally revealing who died (that’s not a spoiler, we’ve all known since episode 1 that someone died) with an open-ended denouement just perfect for a second season (although it’s exquisite as a one-season series), Big Little Lies: Music from the HBO Limited Series offers up a dark selection of tracks.

Opening with its spooky, halting theme song, “Cold Little Heart,” written and sung by British post-folkie Michael Kiwanuka from his 2016 sophomore album Love & Hate, Big Little Lies closes on a somber note with a bleak and heavily breathy interpretation of the Rolling Stones’ “You Can’t Always Get What You Want” from the femme tropical ensemble, Ituana.

Between those sonic bookends is Big Little Lies co-star Zoë Kravitz’s quiet storming “Don’t”; the grand Elvis Presley ballad “The Wonder of You,” lip-synched by co-star Adam Scott in the last episode but, in reality, performed by Conor O’Brien; and the damn-near frightening “Bloody Mother F--ing A--hole” taken from the 2005 eponymous debut album by Martha Wainwright.

Great stuff, but we can’t help but wonder what young Darby Camp (who plays Chloe Mackenzie), the show’s resident musicologist thinks about all of this?

Photo courtesy of Bob Merliss PR

Posted on Monday, April 3, 2017